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Vaccinating against Rabies: Answers to Some Difficult Questions 

Veterinarians at the 2011 N.C. Veterinary Conference were quizzed about their knowledge of North 
Carolina rabies laws and rabies vaccination protocol. Test yourself and see how you would answer the 
questions below! The correct answer follows each question. 

1. Q. Which North Carolina agency/department/organization “owns” rabies law?  

A.  The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services is the state agency that has 
regulatory authority over the N.C. Rabies Laws 
(http://epi.publichealth.nc.gov/rabies/pdf/NCRabiesLaws.pdf), located in Chapter 130A 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/statutes/statutestoc.pl?Chapter=0130A), the public health 
chapter of the N.C. General Statutes. Public Health Veterinarians in the Veterinary Public Health 
Program provide 24/7 consultations for human and animal rabies risk assessments to healthcare 
providers, local health departments, animal control, other state agencies, veterinarians and North 
Carolinians.   

2.  Q.  What’s the minimum legal age for a dog/cat/ferret residing in North Carolina to be 
vaccinated against rabies? 

 
A. According to N.C. G.S. 130A-185 

(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-185.pdf), the owner of any dog, cat or ferret over four months of age shall keep their animal 
“currently” vaccinated against rabies. However, many rabies vaccines are licensed and approved 
for primary vaccination as early as 3 months (12 weeks) of age. The owner would still be 
compliant with N.C. General Statutes if the animal were vaccinated between 3 and 4 months of 
age as indicated in the manufacturer’s package insert. See the 2011 Rabies Compendium 
(http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/RabiesCompendium.pdf) for a list of USDA-licensed 
vaccines by manufacturer, species, duration of immunity, and age of primary vaccination. This 
information is also available in the vaccine manufacturers’ package inserts. 

 
3.  Q.  How soon after the initial rabies vaccination is a dog/cat considered immunized? 
 

A. According to N.C. G.S. 130A-197 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-197.pdf). when a dog, cat or ferret that has not been previously vaccinated against rabies 
receives a primary rabies vaccination, the animal is considered “currently vaccinated” against 
rabies 28 days after the date of that initial, or primary, rabies vaccination. It is important to 
emphasize to owners that they should particularly carefully supervise their animals during those 
28 days, because the animal will not be considered immunized and “current” in the eyes of the 
law, if exposed to rabies during that time. In the unfortunate event that the “not currently 
vaccinated” animal is exposed to or potentially exposed to rabies, the animal would be subject to 
euthanasia or up to a 6-month quarantine at the owner’s expense. This statute is usually enforced 
by animal control under the direction of the local health director. 

 
4. Q.  Under what circumstances can a rabies titer (Kansas State University, Rabies Laboratory) 

be substituted for rabies vaccination in a dog? …in a cat?  
 

A. North Carolina General Statutes and regulations do not allow substitution of rabies titers (which 
indicate the presence of circulating rabies antibodies in the animal) for rabies vaccination. All 
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owners of dogs, cats and ferrets shall have their animals currently vaccinated against rabies by 4 
months of age, according to N.C. G.S. 130A-185 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-185.pdf). When North Carolina law and regulations are silent on a particular public health 
issue, then guidance and recommendations published in the applicable CDC Morbidity and 
Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) (http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr) are used.   

 
 According to the Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and Control 

2011(http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/RabiesCompendium.pdf), rabies serological titers do 
not directly correlate with protection and only indicate a response to vaccine or infection. Other 
immunologic factors play an important role in the animal’s immunity including the animal’s 
health, immune status, presence of chronic and/or immune-compromising diseases or conditions, 
age, and genetics. Therefore, “…evidence of circulating rabies virus antibodies should not be 
used as a substitute for current vaccination in managing rabies exposures or determining the need 
for a booster vaccination.” 

 
 Some rabies-free jurisdictions (Hawaii, Guam, Japan, St. Kitts and Nevis, Australia, New 

Zealand, France, and the United Kingdom) require the Fluorescent Antibody Virus Neutralization 
(FAVN) test for dogs and cats to qualify for a reduced quarantine period prior to entry into those 
jurisdictions. When importing or traveling with pets, always check with the destination authority 
to verify pet importation requirements. FAVN test results are provided in the United States by 
Kansas State University and the Department of Defense (DoD) [military members only]. You 
may direct questions about the FAVN to: 

The Rabies Laboratory 
Kansas State University 
2005 Research Park Circle 
Manhattan, KS 66502 
Phone: 785-532-4483 
Forms: www.vet.ksu.edu\rabies (review website for shipping instructions) 

 
5.  Q.  What are the legal implications for a 5-year old pet dog that is provoked by and bites a 

neighbor’s child,  
  (a) if the dog’s rabies vaccination status is current? 
  (b) if the dog is overdue for a 3-year rabies booster by only 5 days? 
 

A. The response is the same for both (a) and (b). Any domestic dog, cat or ferret, regardless of 
vaccination status, that bites a person shall be immediately confined for 10 days in a place 
designated by the local health director (N.C. G.S. 130A-196) 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-196.pdf). After reviewing the circumstances of the particular case, the local health director may 
allow the owner to confine the animal on the owner's property. 

 
6.  Q.  TRUE or FALSE? In North Carolina, a dog that is imported by its owner from Japan must 

be quarantined at home for 1 month, must be examined by a licensed veterinarian at the 
beginning and the end of the quarantine period, and, if deemed healthy, must receive a 
single dose of rabies vaccine at the completion of the quarantine period.  

 
A. False.  

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) animal importation 
regulations (http://www.cdc.gov/animalimportation/BringingAnimalToUs.html), dogs must have 
a certificate showing they have been vaccinated against rabies at least 30 days prior to entry into 
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the United States. These requirements apply equally to service animals, such as Seeing Eye dogs. 
However, dogs not accompanied by proof of rabies vaccination, including those that are too 
young to be vaccinated (i.e., less than 3 months of age), may be admitted if the importer 
completes a confinement agreement and confines the animal until it is considered adequately 
vaccinated against rabies (the vaccine is not considered effective until 30 days after the date of 
vaccination). 

North Carolina General Statute 130A-193 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-193.pdf) requires that all domestic dogs, cats, and ferrets entering North Carolina must have a 
health certificate issued by a licensed veterinarian within 30 days of the date of entry into the 
state, and animals four months of age and older must also have a current rabies vaccination and 
rabies certificate. 

Rabies vaccines used in countries outside of the United States typically are specific to the 
regulatory requirements of that country and are not licensed by the United States Department of 
Agriculture Center for Veterinary Biologics (CVB). North Carolina G.S. 130A-185 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-185.pdf) requires that only animal rabies vaccine licensed by the United States Department of 
Agriculture and approved by the Commission shall be used on animals in this state. G.S. 130A-
190 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-190.pdf) further states that dogs shall wear rabies vaccination tags at all times. Cats and ferrets 
must wear rabies vaccination tags unless they are exempt from wearing the tags by local 
ordinance. To maintain compliance with N.C. law, the N.C. Veterinary Public Health Program 
recommends that owners of dogs and cats being imported into North Carolina from outside of the 
United States establish a relationship with a veterinarian with one week of entry into the state, 
have their animal vaccinated if it is 3 months of age or older with a USDA-licensed rabies 
vaccine, and be issued a rabies tag. 

 
7.  Q.  Regarding rabies vaccination, what are the implications for the owner of a 1-year old 

healthy dog, with no prior history of rabies vaccination, who has recently moved to North 
Carolina from Virginia? 

 
A. Pursuant to N.C. G.S. 130A-193 

(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-193.pdf) dogs, cats and ferrets (≥ 4 months of age) imported into North Carolina from another 
state shall be currently vaccinated against rabies. All animals vaccinated with USDA-licensed 
rabies vaccines administered by a licensed veterinarian, and accompanied by a current rabies 
certificate verifying the vaccination, are recognized. If an animal that is not currently vaccinated 
enters North Carolina, the owner has a one-week grace period by law to visit a veterinarian and 
have the pet vaccinated; the statute then requires that the animal be confined at the owner’s home 
for an additional 2 weeks. If the imported animal is less than 3 months of age, it shall be confined 
at the owner’s home, vaccinated between 3 and 4 months of age, and then confined for an 
additional 2 weeks by the owner. The animal is not considered “currently vaccinated” until 28 
days after its primary rabies vaccination. 
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8.  Q.  In North Carolina, what procedure exists for a licensed veterinarian to “exempt” a dog/cat 

from the rabies vaccination requirement if, on examination, the patient is deemed too 
ill/sick to vaccinate? 

 
A. There is no legally accepted exemption or waiver of rabies vaccination for dogs, cats, or ferrets in 

North Carolina. N.C. G.S. 130A-185 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-185.pdf) requires that owners of all dogs, cats, and ferrets 4 months of age and older keep their 
animals’ rabies vaccinations current. The intent of the rabies laws is to protect both domestic 
animals and the public against rabies. It is important to emphasize to owners, that if they elect, 
against the advice of a veterinarian, not to vaccinate their animals, they will not be in compliance 
with state law and if an exposure or a potential exposure to rabies occurs to their “not currently 
vaccinated” pet, the pet shall be subject to euthanasia or up to 6 months of quarantine at the 
discretion of the local health director, according to N.C. G.S. 130A-197 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-197.pdf).  

 
9.  Q.  In North Carolina, can a 3-year rabies vaccine be substituted for a 1-year rabies vaccine? 

…can a 1-year rabies vaccine be substituted for a 3-year rabies vaccine? 
 

A. The specifics regarding administration of rabies vaccines are not addressed in North Carolina 
General Statutes. Rabies vaccines are recommended to be administered per vaccine label and 
manufacturer’s package insert. The booster interval and duration of immunity are found in the 
manufacturers’ package insert and should be adhered to. A 3-year rabies vaccine can be used as 
the primary vaccine in an animal (not previously vaccinated); however, the duration of immunity 
for any primary vaccine is one year and a booster will still be required within one year to 
complete the initial series. If a 1-year vaccine is used to booster an animal that should or could 
have received a 3-year booster vaccine, then the animal will have to receive another booster 
within one (1) year, ideally with a 3-year vaccine to ensure the longest potential duration of 
immunity, if applicable to the species. The rabies vaccination certificate should always reflect 
appropriately the duration of immunity of the vaccine administered as indicated by the expiration 
date.  

 
10.  Q.  A 2-year-old cat, currently vaccinated for rabies, catches and kills a bat (determined to be 

rabies POSITIVE). Which of the following must happen? Check all that apply: 
o cat must be quarantined in a designated holding facility for 6 months. 
o cat must be home-quarantined for 10 days. 
o cat must receive a single post-exposure rabies vaccine. 
o cat must be euthanized and the brain submitted for rabies testing. 

 
A. The correct answer is the third one: cat must receive a single post-exposure rabies vaccine; the 

vaccination must occur within 5 days of the exposure. This is mandated in NC G.S. 130A-197 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130
A-197.pdf).  

 
 In addition, N.C. Veterinary Public Health recommends the following confinement guidance 

provided in the 2011 Rabies Compendium 
(http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/RabiesCompendium.pdf): 
(3) Dogs, cats, and ferrets that are currently vaccinated should be revaccinated immediately, kept 
under the owner’s control, and observed for 45 days. The rationale for an observation period is 
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based in part on the potential for: overwhelming viral challenge, incomplete vaccine efficacy, 
improper vaccine administration, variable host immunocompetence, and immune-mediated 
fatality (i.e., early death phenomenon). 

 
11.  Q. If a dog is six months overdue for a “booster” dose of rabies vaccine, can a 3-year rabies 

vaccine be administered and the dog considered immunized for the next three years? 
 
A. N.C. General Statutes do not address lapses in rabies vaccinations. N.C. Veterinary Public Health 

follows the guidance provided by the Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and Control, 
2011 (http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/RabiesCompendium.pdf):  “Because a rapid 
anamnestic response is expected, an animal is considered currently vaccinated immediately after 
a booster vaccination.” 

and 
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention makes the following recommendations: 

 “All dogs, cats, and ferrets should be vaccinated and revaccinated against rabies according to 
product label directions. If a previously vaccinated animal is overdue for a booster, it should be 
revaccinated. Immediately following the booster, the animal is considered currently vaccinated 
and should be placed on a vaccination schedule according to the labeled duration of the vaccine 
used.” 

 
12. Q.  What if the dog above is two years overdue for a “booster” dose of rabies vaccine? …five 

years overdue? 
 

A. Veterinary professional discretion is recommended when treating patients. When you are in doubt 
about the legal implications of veterinary practice actions, N.C. Veterinary Public Health 
recommends that you contact your AVMA PLIT and N.C. Veterinary Medical Board. Many 
factors should be considered when evaluating an animal’s immune status and whether or not to 
restart a rabies vaccine series. Rabies vaccines are highly immunogenic, but there may be 
confounding circumstances and health conditions that in the veterinarian’s professional medical 
assessment and judgment compromise the animal’s immune system. Long lapses after a primary 
vaccine (greater than 3 years), geriatric animals, acute and chronic illnesses/diseases of animals, 
and whether an animal is immune-compromised or on immune-suppressive therapy are among 
the factors to be considered when deciding if a booster vaccination is appropriate.   

 
 
Questions pertaining to the interpretation and application of rabies vaccination law for domestic 
pets in North Carolina should be directed to:  
 
Veterinary Public Health 
Division of Public Health - Epidemiology Section 
N.C. Department of Health and Human Services 
1902 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh NC 27699-1902 
Phone: (919) 733-3410 
After-hours emergency phone: (919) 733-3419 
Fax: (919) 733-9555 

 
 


